2018 Quinpool Road AGM Highlights

June 26, 2018

The Quinpool Road Mainstreet District Association held its 2018 Annual General Meeting on Monday, June 25th. This year’s event was held at the West End Baptist Church and catered by Quinpool Road’s Dilly Dally Café.

The Annual Meeting included a brainstorming questionnaire to aid upcoming strategies, and a presentation which highlighted the many successes, events, initiatives, and promotions undertaken by the Association and its partners during the previous year.

The Association’s year-end financial report was presented by Andrew Corkum, of Andrew Corkum Accounting Services. The document can be downloaded below.

The 2018 Chairman’s Award went to Bill Cooley. This is the second time Bill Cooley has been recognized by the Association for his hard work and dedication to the betterment of Quinpool Road. Bill has served on the Quinpool Road Board of Directors for more than five years and has served on the Façade Improvement Committee as well as the Tax Reform Committee, for which he was recognized as a Tax Reform Champion at the Quinpool Road 2016 AGM. Bill has been a Real Estate Agent with Royal Lepage since 1994 and his grasp of commercial real estate and property values was a tremendous boost to the Tax Reform team.

The event recognized outgoing Board members: Margaret Armour, Aerobics First, April Barkhouse-Stroink, Property owner, and Bill Cooley, former owner of Bib ‘N Tucker.

For the first time in the history of the Association, due to three nominations from the floor, there were more Board candidates than Board positions to be filled. This necessitated an election by the members present and proxy voters.

The results elected new board members: Larry Burke, Burke and Burke Design, Dean Cheverie, Aerobics First, Gerald Lonergan, East Coast Bakery, and Jamie Wentzell, Organic Earth Market.

They will join existing board members: Lorelei Burgess, Oxford Learning: Richard Connolly, property owner, Fergus Ford, Fergus Ford Lawyer: Jeannette Kline, Atlantica Hotel Halifax; Laura Draeger, Dilly Dally Coffee Cafe; Kimberly O’Donnell, RBC; Ron Smith: Studio 1 Architects: Ferdinand Ballesteros, Ikebana Shop and Sue Uteck, former HRM Councillor.

The Board election results are as follows:

Jamie Wentzell 21 votes
Gerry Lonergan 18 votes
Dean Cheverie 17 votes
Larry Burke 15 votes
Daniel Ryan 13 votes
Drew Voegell 12 votes

QRMDA Financial Statements March 2018